5 Columbia Physics Majors Awarded 2023 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships!

April 24, 2023

Columbia Physics is proud to announce that 5 Columbia Physics majors have been awarded research fellowships through the National Science Foundation. Benjamin Church (Astrophysics 2020), Stan DeLaurentis (Astrophysics 2023), Sahil Hegde (Physics 2021), Andrew Sullivan (Physics 2022) and Molly Watts (Physics 2020) all received the prestigious honor for young engineers, scientists, and social scientists that identifies outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based education at accredited American institutions. 

The award includes a five-year fellowship with three years of financial support, including an annual stipend of $34,000 and a cost of education allowance of $12,000 to the institution. These incredible students were chosen out of an average 13,000 applicants per year competing for these incredible honors. 

Congratulations Benjamin, Stan, Sahil. Andrew and Molly!

Honorable mentions were also give to Columbia Physics students Isaac Pope (Physics 2023) and Christina Lee (Biophysics2021).