Nobel Prize Research

Columbia Physics prides itself in a long and distinguished history in diverse and transformational physics research, credited with more than 10 Nobel Prize winners since 1944. 

Fifteen Nobel Laureates in Physics have served on the faculty, with 5 Laureates having graduated from Columbia College, including the 2018 Nobel Laureate in Physics, Arthur Ashkin. Another 11 Nobel Laureates received their Ph.D. in Physics from Columbia.  Columbia graduates, along with many scientists who spent their formative years here, have gone on to make extraordinary contributions to science as researchers, teachers, and intellectual leaders.

Of all the Physics Nobel Laureates that were associated with Columbia, 13 received the award for their work in theoretical physics, and 18 for their experimental discoveries; 10 performed their prize-winning research in Pupin. A list can be found below: